Samoa views 4

I managed to get a reasonable image of the place I’m staying from a satellite – much better resolution than I’ve seen for my Namibian home!


I’ve done some hectic cropping here, but the scale is about right, and I suspect the satellite image is quite a few years old. Arrow points at the shamba. (Click on the image for a larger view!)

As commonplace on the island as the Indian (Common) Myna, I have been seeing several large rats – very large rats 🙂 around the property. They are particularly destructive to ground-nesting birds, and given my recent sight of a white-browed rail in the garden, along with the several pairs of banded rails in the same area, I got a rat trap yesterday, and tried it out overnight, baited with peanut-butter…
I woke to it going off at some ungodly hour of the night, and judging from the screaming, I thought it had caught a cat, not a rat! Note that this is a biiiig trap. By the time I got out to the trap, whatever had been caught had vanished, likely with a severe headache. I shall try again tonight, closer to my door and broomstick…

I also received a ‘mynamagnet’ myna trap (www.mynamagnet.com.au) from the Ministry of Environment, which I intend to set up over the weekend; there are hundreds, if not thousands, of these Mynas roosting in a paddock about a kilometre away, Mynas are real bullies, chasing away all the local endemic birds, and are notorious for taking over nest-sites from local hole-nesting species. I last caught mynas in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa, in 1980, and suspect that they are as smart as ever. Damn tricky to catch! I will keep you posted!

About

Read my blog

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

