Much Ado about matches cont.

Dear

thank you for your prompt reply, the kind offer of a voucher and a photo of a Lion matchbox with the usual informative text on its back! This was most reasuring, to say the least! [I do take exception to the large barcode, though. There can’t be many children who have barcode readers as part of their personal tech. And can you imagine how many Chappies you can buy for one of those devices?]

I’m afraid that all my earlier frustrations with the deteriorating state of your matches were not documented as expressly as the present lot, but believe me when I say that I’m not the only person who has noticed changes in the quality of your matches! Obvious hearsay you might say, but my group of friends at a recent barbeque were quite vociferous in their concerns; and this well before the brandy kicked in!

I recovered the following range of batch codes from the remaining matchboxes in the same packet barcoded in my previous correspondence.

It would appear quite clear from the present photo that this collection of matchboxes should never have passed a quality control exam at your factory. Given the fact that this packet of 10 matchboxes was purchased at a Spar retailer in Windhoek, Namibia, is it at all possible that you’ve got some very naughty staff members selling reject matches on the sly?

I’m afraid I can’t recall at which one of the three Spar retailers I frequent in Windhoek I purchased this particular packet of matches, but since they are all likely to acquire their imported stocks from a common wholesale distribution depot here, perhaps you could contact them directly.  

Come to think of it, there’s even the chance that someone might be selling fake Lion matches in Namibia!  We do know that uncontrolled quantities of contraband fake cigarettes have infiltrated our country, along with a gazillion other fake goods of oriental origin, so perhaps there is bigger story to tell! 

Now that would cause quite a media stir here, given the otherwise dreary reporting of Independence Day celebrations and the doom and gloom of self-enrichment by diverse members of popular political parties here and in other southern African countries.  

I, too, assure you of my best intentions in hoping that you’ll uncover the reasons for deteriorating matches in your factory!  

Sincerely, etc.

About

Read my blog

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment